No signup needed

Setting up your demo

Building your workspace...

Comparison

Fergus pricing, and the crew size it is built for

Fergus is a bigger tool than Chippie, and it is priced like one. The question is not which is better but which one matches the size of the business you are running now.

Start free

Key takeaways

  1. Fergus Essentials starts at $53 a month and Professional at $77, on its Australian page, verified 19 September 2026.
  2. Enterprise is custom-quoted for 10 or more staff. Timesheet-only users start at $26.
  3. The page does not say what a second or third full user adds, so no crew total can be quoted from it. Ask for that in writing.
  4. Its pricing page does not state whether those figures include GST, so neither do we.
  5. Most of what people buy Fergus for sits on Professional: job phases, purchase orders, SWMS, GPS and real reporting.
  6. Chippie Pro is $25 a month including 2 users. It does not do any of that Professional list.

What does Fergus cost to run?#

Fergus publishes starting prices rather than a per-seat table, and its page does not say how additional full users change them. So the honest comparison is of starting points, plus the add-ons, which is where the difference between a quote and a bill usually lives.

Published starting prices, AUD, verified 19 September 2026. GST treatment is not stated on the Fergus page.
  Fergus Chippie
Entry plan Essentials from $53/mo Pro $25/mo, 2 users
The plan with the features Professional from $77/mo Pro $25/mo
Ten or more staff Enterprise, custom quote Team $45 + $10/user
Free plan None, 14-day trial 20 jobs a month
Timesheet-only users From $26/mo Not applicable

Which features actually differ?#

Plan gating per the Fergus pricing page, verified 12 June 2026
  Chippie Fergus
Quotes, jobs and invoices Yes Yes
Job phases and purchase orders No Professional plan
Hazards and SWMS No Professional plan
GPS tracking No Professional plan
Checklists, files and photos Photos on jobs Professional plan
Reporting Basic Fuller, on Professional
Free plan 20 jobs a month None

Nearly every row that differs is a Professional-plan feature. That is the shape of the decision: Fergus at $77 a month and up against Chippie at $25, buying you site safety paperwork, job phases and procurement.

When is Fergus the better choice?#

  • Your sites need SWMS and hazard records. Chippie has nothing for that, and it is not optional paperwork.
  • You run jobs in phases with purchase orders. Multi-stage work with procurement is what Fergus is built around.
  • You have ten or more staff. That is the size Enterprise exists for, and it is past where Chippie is aimed.

When is Chippie the better choice?#

  • You are one to ten people doing quotes, jobs, invoices and GST.
  • You would be paying for the Professional plan to use a third of it.
  • You want to start free and stay free under 20 jobs a month.
  • You want the bill to be one number rather than a plan plus five add-ons.

How do I move my data across?#

Export your client list from Fergus as a CSV and send it to us. We import it into your Chippie account, usually the same day, for free. Keep PDF copies of old quotes and invoices: those stay with Fergus.

Chippie vs Fergus: your questions#

What does Fergus cost?
Its Australian page lists Essentials starting at $53 a month and Professional starting at $77 a month, with Enterprise custom-quoted for 10 or more staff. Timesheet-only users start at $26. Verified 19 September 2026; check fergus.com for the current figures.
Does Fergus have a free plan?
No. There is a 14-day trial with no card and no lock-in contract, then a paid plan. Chippie has a free plan covering 20 jobs a month.
Are there costs on top of the plan?
Yes, several are listed as add-ons: contractor users at $4 per user per day, SMS at $15 per 100 texts, certificates at $30 to $80, and card payments at 1.95% plus $0.30. Verified 12 June 2026.
What is locked to the Professional plan?
GPS tracking, checklists, job phases, files and photos, tasks, purchase orders, tiered pricing, hazards and SWMS, and the fuller reporting. If you need any of those, Essentials is not the plan you are comparing.
Is Chippie cheaper than Fergus?
For a small crew, yes. Chippie Pro is $25 a month including 2 users and Team is $45 including 4, against a Fergus Essentials plan starting at $53 a month. Fergus does more; whether you need what it does more of is the actual question.
Does Fergus handle SWMS and site safety?
Yes, on the Professional plan: hazards and SWMS are listed there. Chippie has nothing equivalent. On a site that requires safety paperwork, that difference decides it.
Can I move my Fergus data to Chippie?
Yes. Export your clients as a CSV, send it over, and we import it free, usually the same day.
When should I stay on Fergus?
If you run ten or more people, need job phases and purchase orders, or your sites require SWMS. Chippie has none of those and no price difference makes up for software that cannot do the job.

Have a play. It is free.

Free while you are small. No card, no lock-in.

Have a play
Free up to 20 jobs a monthWorks on any phone

Prices verified 19 September 2026 from the Fergus Australian pricing page, plan gating and add-ons 12 June 2026. The page does not state GST treatment, so this one does not claim either way. Fergus is a trademark of its owner; Chippie is not affiliated with it.

    People also ask on this page